top of page

Back to the renovation



After having had a few weeks off and knowing that I still wont make it down to the boat for any real work this weekend due to a hen do I thought it might be good to post a general update on where I am and what the immediate plan is.


I have set myself a goal of having all structural work, plumbing and electrical work done by the end of the first year of the project which takes me up to April 2017.


I had originally only planned on working on very small sections at a time, i.e. i didn't want to dismantle or rip out everything and then start from scratch. Mainly because I thought it would all become a bit overwhelming so the idea was to just focus on small bits leaving everything else in tact. I am feeling a lot more confident about everything now and am less concerned about this and have realized that for plumbing and electrics its just going to be so much easier if I have the cabinet fronts etc already removed. With that in mind I am planning on taking off the cabinet fronts the next time i'm down and starting to clean out and repaint the interiors.


I've gone ahead and got my geek on to come up with a project plan for the goal of April 2017: the timescales and days needed for each item is how long i think it will take me, not how many weekends, i.e. 1 day might be spread across a number of weekends but you get the gist.

So with three main areas to work on: structural, plumbing and electrics I am planning each trip to the boat in advance coming up with a list of things I want to achieve and things i need to take with me to be able to do it. My next trip down is the 6th August and along with the above main tasks I have a few other minor tasks that I want to get done along with this which mainly includes the bilge!


I have an electric bilge pump but it is a very temporary set up right now which needs to be sorted properly. one of the problems i have is that my bilge is bl00dy deep. I cant reach the bottom at all so i have ordered a garbage/rubbish picker off of amazon to be able to get the larger items out that have been dropped in over the years and will then do my best to clean it out with eco friendly Gunk de-greaser and a power hose. I then plan to fix both the electric and manual bilge pump to a piece of epoxied wood which will fit into the bottom of the bilge. You can find the plans here.


There we have it, next trip is going to involve further demolition and a lot of cleaning, I'm definitely looking forward to starting to build or fit things rather than just taking things apart!!


Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Flickr Social Icon
Other Ohlson 38 Blogs
No tags yet.
Serach By Tags
bottom of page