top of page

My Name is No



Lady of Lewis is not the name I would have chosen had I had the boat commissioned particularly because it is Lewis in terms of the Isle of Lewis. But of course unless I mention that people just assume that it was a homage to the original owner’s old lady. It also doesn’t help that it shortens to LOL…….not ideal. It made me think though if I could name a boat how on earth would I go about picking a name.


I am a total romantic and kind of old school so my instinct would be to have something timeless, classic, that conveys the beauty and grace of the yacht, instils excitement and adventure. With this in mind you should start to look at boat names that you see on the water. Seriously some of them I just have no idea what they were thinking and really its pretty surprising at how many owners have terrible taste or humor. Admittedly most of the really atrocious names are on motor yachts and considering they bought a motor yacht in the first place you can’t be too surprised over the lack of taste, what more did you expect….

I’m all for a play on words and a pun but some of these really can’t be forgive;

Here is a short list of some of my favourites.

  • Makin luff

  • Hot ruddered bum! (jesus help us)

  • ­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­­breaking wind (really......i mean really.)

  • Hoosier Daddy (I must admit I actually giggled at this one)

  • Shoot low they’re riding chickens (ok this one I’m just confused)

  • A little nauti (so unoriginal)

  • Bottoms up (god how many of these have we seen on the solent!)

I can’t bring myself to add more it’s just too cringe worthy. Please people if not for yourselves remember you might sell the boat one day and the new owner is going to be stuck with that oh so funny (or not) name.

Featued Posts 
Recent Posts 
Find Me On
  • Facebook Long Shadow
  • Twitter Long Shadow
  • YouTube Long Shadow
  • Flickr Social Icon
Other Ohlson 38 Blogs
No tags yet.
Serach By Tags
bottom of page